The Organizing Committee is thrilled to announce the final list of nominees for the prestigious PrivCon Privacy Awards. These awards aim to honor and celebrate outstanding achievements in the field of privacy and data protection within Nigeria. The winners will be revealed during the much-anticipated PrivCon Privacy Awards on the 3rd day of April 2024 at The Civic Centre, Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria.

The PrivCon Privacy Awards serve as a testament to the innovative efforts and significant contributions made by individuals and organizations towards safeguarding privacy rights and fostering a culture of data protection in Nigeria.

After a rigorous selection process, the following final nominees have been shortlisted across various categories:


Privacy Icon of the Year

* Mr Babatunde Irukera

(Former CEO, Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Commission)


Privacy Leading Light (Legal)

* Thelma O. Okorie (Banwo & Ighodalo)

* Ifeanyi Okonkwo (Jackson, Etti & Edu)

* Adaobi Olaye (DataPro Consulting)

* Ridwan Oloyede (Tech Hive Advisory)

* Solomon Okedara (Digital Rights Lawyers Initiative)

* Austin Mbadugha (Ernst & Young)

* Moses Faya (Tech Policy Advisory)

* Tomisin Titilope Olumuyiwa (LG Electronics)


Privacy Leading Light (Tech)

* Emmanuel Umoru (Accuvice Consulting)

* Shalom Tolu Bamigboye (Taxaide)

* Toulu Akerele (Paystack)

* Jennifer Enemuo


Privacy Leading Light (Academics)

* Dr Akinola Akintayo (University of Lagos)

* Prof. Simisola Akintola (University of Ibadan)


Privacy Leading Light (Research)

* Dorcas Tsebee (Tech Hive Advisory)

* Peter-Cole Onele (Chris Ogunbanjo & Co)

* Ridwan Oloyede (Tech Hive Advisory)



Privacy Leading Light (Women category)

* Thelma Oshone Okorie (Banwo & Ighodalo)

* Tomisin Titilope Olumuyiwa (LG Electronics)

* Abisola Epoyun (Flutterwave)

* Ibiwunmi Adeyeri (Denton ACAS)

* Sandra Eke (SPA Ajibade & Co)

* Chiderah Ike-Okonkwo (Nigeria Data Protection Commission)

* Victoria Oloni (Templars)

* Adaobi Olaye (Data Pro Consult)

* Toulu Akerele (Paystack)

* Celestina Nwabueze (Olaniwun Ajayi LP)

* Jennifer Enemuo

* Amirah Rufai (University of Lagos)


Privacy Team of the Year (Private sector)

* Eko Disco

* Paystack

* Flutterwave

* AirTel


Privacy Team of the Year (Public sector)

·      University of Lagos


Best Privacy Culture Development

* Paystack

* Flutterwave

* Paradigm Initiative

* Airtel


Best Privacy Product/Programme

* UNILAG Data Protection Project

* Smartcomply

* CyberSec Policy Girls Initiative

* Cybersafe Foundation


DPO of the Year (private sector)

* Hannah Adeyemi (G4S Shared Services Nigeria Ltd)

* Oyindolapo Olusesi (Kora Pay)

* Moyosore Jide-Taiwo (Airtel Nigeria)

* Tomisin Titilope Olumuyiwa (LG Electronics)

* Olamilekan Bakre (Eat n Go Ltd)


DPCO of the Year

* Andersen

* Tech Hive Advisory


Rising Star (Legal)

* Ifeoluwa Ebiseni (Aelex)

* Uwem Atakpo (Taxaide Tech Ltd)

* Martha Apeh (CCHub)

* Temiloluwa Dosunmu( Famsville Solicitors)

* Dorcas Tsebee (Tech Hive Advisory)

* Vannessa Obi (Banwo & Ighodalo)

* Joel Adefidipe (Udo Udoma & Belo Osagie)

* Esther Nkechinyere Odunze (Olisa Agbakoba Legal)

* Olajide Akibu (AO2 Law)

* Samuel Ngwu (Duale Ovia and Alex Adedipe)

* Victoria Oloni (Templars)

* Ridwan Badmus (Oguntoye & Oguntoye)

* Omesi Mamedu (Folasade Alli & Associates)

* Sandra Eke (SPA Ajibade & Co)

* Olatorera Oladeji (Taxaide Tech Ltd)


Rising Star (Tech)

* Shalom Tolu Bamigboye

Rising Star (students)

* Maimuna Usman (Afe Babalola University)

* Raheemah Olawuyi (University of Ilorin)

* Tom Utum (Obafemi Awolowo Univeristy)

* Afolabi Alawode (Olabisi Onabanjo University)

* Christopher Ewulum (University of Nigeria)

* Yetunde Olashore (Nigerian Law School)

* David C. Giwa (Lagos State University)

* Ajayi Philip Muyiwa (Ekiti State University)

* Chidera Stephanie Igweonu (Oyenusi University of Science and Technology)

Privacy Leading Light (advocacy)

* Paradigm Initiative

* ISH-61 Human Rights & Social Justice Initiative.

The Awards winners will be announced during the PrivCon’s closing ceremony and awards night, scheduled to take place at the Civic Centre, Lagos on the 3rd day of April 2024 at 6pm. The event promises to be a momentous occasion, bringing together leading experts, advocates, and stakeholders in the Nigerian privacy and data protection community.

To attend the event, please visit